1999 Awards

ASEE - ChE Division

Ray W. Fahien Award

Presented to

Robert P. Hesketh

Rowan University



This award was established in 1996 to honor the memory of Ray Fahien, editor of Chemical Engineering Education from 1967 until his death in 1995. He was effectively the founding father of the journal, establishing it as a premier publication vehicle in the field of chemical engineering education. He selflessly gave his time and talents to advance pedagogical schoolarship, particularly in the careers of young educators, through his dedication to the journal and to the profession.

Given annually to an educator who has demonstrated a scholarly approach to teaching and learning and who has shown evidence of vision and contribution to chemical engineering education. Educators who have been faculty members for not more than ten years as of July 1st in the year of the award will be eligible. Nominees are evaluated based on 1) outstanding teaching effectiveness and 2) educational scholarship. The award recipient should have made significant contributions to chemical engineering education that go beyond his or her own institution.

Prior Winners: Kirk H. Schulz (1997); Douglas E. Hirt (1998)

William H. Corcoran Award

presented to
John M. Prausnitz
U. of California-Berkeley

Union Carbide Lectureship Award

presented to
Liang-Shi Fan
Ohio State University

Joseph J. Martin Award

presented to
Robert P. Hesketh
and C. Stewart Slater
Rowan University

ASEE Fellow Member Honorees

R. Neal House Purdue University John W. Prados, University of Tennessee

Donald E. Marlowe Award • James E. Stice, University of Texas Chester F. Carlson Award • C. Stewart Slater, Rowan University General Electric Senior Research Award • Arthur W. Westerberg, Carnegie-Mellon University

ASEE Section Awards

Dow Outstanding New Faculty Award

Rocky Mountain Section • Kristi S. Anseth, University of Colorado St. Lawrence Section • Paschalis Alexandridis, State University of New York-Buffalo Southeast Section • Kimberly E. Forsten, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Outstanding Teaching Award

Middle Atlantic Section • Andrew L. Zydney

Midwest Section • Frank Manning, University of Tulsa

North Midwest Section • Kirk H. Schulz, Michigan Technological University

Pacific Northwest Section • Willie (Skip) Rochefort, Oregon State University

Outstanding Campus Representative Award

Middle Atlantic Section • Deran Hanesian, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Effective Teaching Award-Engineering

Francis Manning, Tulsa University

Thomas C. Evans Instructional Unit Award

Douglas E. Hirt, Clemson University

Fall 1999 287